Like a flower….

two_flowers.preview

Whether you believe in reincarnation or not, all of us have at one stage thought about what we would like to come back as if we were to be reincarnated. This question only just dawned on me a couple of days ago, and after much thought, I came to the conclusion that I would like to be a flower. What kind, I do not know, but a flower none the less.

After coming to this conclusion, I came to realise that flowers are very much like human kind. Like flowers, humans need love, nurture and food in order to grow up healthy. A flower needs someone to fend off the pests, disease and anything else that may hurt the plant, just as a parent protects their child. Without a little TLC, the plant is unable to grow and bloom, just as a child may grow up feeling unloved.

The time when a flower blooms as similar to that when a human reaches adulthood, or their full potential. Each flower’s bloom has their own personality; their own colour, shape, fragrance, meaning… An Identity.

When thinking about all these similarities, I came to realise, why wait until you’re dead to become a flower? Why not live like a flower now? To grow into something beautiful and to try and hold onto your bloom for as long as you can. Every time you “bloom” can be like reaching a different milestone in your life, just how different flowers bloom at different times during the year.

I have always had a bit of a fascination with flowers; their colours, fragrances and how each flower has a different meaning and can portray a message without words. It’s why they are the central focus of most of my jewellery/accessory designs (as well as other objects of nature). But from now on I plan to live life like a flower. Knowing that until a plant has completely died, it will still strive to produce flowers, no matter how long it takes. I will view the struggling moments in my life as a moment before I can “bloom” and express my true colours.

I am currently reading a book called “The Language of Flowers” by Vanessa Diffenbaugh, and the tag-line on the front cover is “Anyone can grow into something beautiful”, which is absolutely true.

So guys, try and live life to the fullest, and I will too, and let’s fill the world with beautiful flowers. 🙂

Mahdee xx

This entry was published on April 25, 2013 at 6:57 am. It’s filed under My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

